Dr Harikrishnan.S

Dr Harikrishnan.S, MD, DM, FRCP, FACC, FAMS, FIACS

Vice President

Chief of ICMR Center for Advanced Research and Excellence in Heart Failure, SCTIMST, Trivandrum

Field of Expertise
ICMR Center for Advanced Research and Excellence in Heart Failure, SCTIMST, Trivandrum

Dr. S Harikrishnan is currently Professor at the Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Technology (SCTIMST), Trivandrum, Kerala. Graduated from Medical College, Trivandrum, he had completed post-doctoral DM training in cardiology from SCTIMST in 1998. Subsequently he got Commonwealth Fellowship in Interventional Cardiology and had training in Leeds University, UK. He also had training in public health at Emory University, USA through the PH -LEADER program.

Dr Harikrishnan is primarily an interventional cardiologist but his main research interest is in heart failure. After establishing the first heart failure cohort in India, – the Trivandrum HF cohort which has completed 7 years of follow-up, he is now leading the National HF registry which is the largest in the country and has enrolled 10800 patients. He has also lead the largest pulmonary hypertension registry from the developing world, - the PROKERALA registry.

In 2019, Dr Harikrishnan was awarded one of the ten National Centers of Excellence in Clinical Research (CARE), established nationwide by Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) which includes the first HF Biobank in India. He has got more than 100 publications in International peer reviewed Journals with high impact with more than 30000 citations and an h-index of 39.

He had edited three books, one a unique monograph on Balloon Mitral Valvotomy, one titled – A RACE AGAINST TIME – describing the epidemic of cardiovascular diseases in developing economies and Manual of Heart Failure Management. He is also the founder editor of the International peer-reviewed journal - Pulmonary Circulation.

He is the fellow of the National Academy of Medical Sciences, American College of Cardiology, International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences and Royal college of Physicians, London.